The San Diego Book Awards are on hold

The San Diego Book Awards have turned their last page, at least for now.

The nonprofit, which began in 1994, said in an email and on its website that it was “closing its doors until further notice.” No reason was given.

“Who knows what the coming years may bring?” ad said.

Prizes started before The late Chet Cunningham, a prolific writer of some 450 books in a variety of genres who wanted to honor and encourage local authors, both published and unpublished. Cunningham passed away in 2017.

Winners and finalists are chosen each year in about a dozen categories, including best fiction, nonfiction, mystery, poetry, memoir, and children’s book. A “Best Show” award was also awarded, named after Theodor Geisel, aka Dr. Seuss, who penned several famous and influential children’s books in his home office on Mount Soledad.

Winner last year جي Corey Lynn Fayman had his secret, “Balast Point Breakdown.”

This time of year, October 1 through December 31, is usually the time to submit entries. The winners will be announced the following June.

The awards attracted entries from a mix of authors, from beginners to veterans whose books have been reviewed in the New York Times and other leading publications. There was an entry fee. Winners receive prizes and can purchase San Diego Book Awards stickers to decorate copies of their books.

For most of its history, the competition was open only to authors who lived in San Diego County. Recently, it has been expanded to include writers from all over the world.

Like many nonprofits, the organisation She relied on volunteers to read and judge the applications each year, and in her announcement of the closure, the group singled them out for thanks.

She added, “Our citywide presence in the social media publishing industry, our patronage of the arts in San Diego, and our esteemed winners have inspired us, despite whatever difficulty[the group]faced. Chet Cunningham would have been proud of what his organization has accomplished.”

Cunningham faced some lean financial years while running the group. He was seeking donations from people in the literary community, telling them that an anonymous donor had offered to match their gifts.

The donor was anonymous.

After his death, the group created an annual award for best unpublished book and named it after him.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *