The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to journalists Maria Ressa of the Philippines and Dmitriy Muratov of Russia

Oslo, Norway – The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded Friday to journalists Maria Ressa of the Philippines and Dmitriy Muratov of Russia.

They have been cited for their struggle for freedom of expression.

The winners were announced on Friday by Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

“A free, independent, and fact-based press protects against abuse of power, lies and propaganda for war,” said Reece Anderson.

“Without freedom of speech and freedom of the press, it will be difficult to succeed in promoting brotherhood among nations, disarmament and a better world order to succeed in our time.”

The Nobel Committee said that in 2012 Ressa co-founded Rappler, a news website that has focused “very keen attention on (President Rodrigo’s) murderous campaign against drugs by the Duterte regime.”

She and Rappler have also “documented how social media is used to spread fake news, harass opponents, and manipulate public discourse.”

Muratov was one of the founders of the independent Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta in 1993.

“Novaya Gazeta is the most independent newspaper in Russia today, and has a fundamentally critical attitude towards power,” the Nobel Committee said.

“The newspaper’s fact-based journalism and professional integrity have made it an important source of information about censored aspects of Russian society that are rarely mentioned by other media,” she added.

Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov congratulated Muratov on winning the award, praising him as a “talented and brave” person.

“We can congratulate Dmitry Muratov – he has consistently acted according to his ideals, adhered to his ideals, is talented and brave. He is highly appreciated and we congratulate him,” Peskov said in a conference call with journalists after receiving the award. It was announced.

The prestigious award is accompanied by a gold medal and 10 million Swedish kronor (more than $1.14 million). The prize money comes from a will left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895.

The Nobel Committee on Monday awarded a prize in physiology or medicine to Americans David Julius and Erdem Patabutian for their discoveries about how the human body perceives temperature and touch.

The Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded Tuesday to three scientists whose work has found a system in apparent turbulence, helping to explain and predict nature’s complex forces, including broadening our understanding of climate change.

Benjamin List and David WC MacMillan were named Nobel Chemistry laureates Wednesday for finding an easier and environmentally cleaner way to build molecules that can be used to make compounds, including drugs and pesticides.

The Nobel Prize for Literature was awarded Thursday to UK-based Tanzanian writer Abdul Razak Jarna, who has been honored for his “uncompromising and passionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of a refugee”.

Copyright © 2021 by The Associated Press. All rights reserved.


Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *