The Irish Book Awards 2021 winners have been announced

Whether you’re looking for Christmas gift inspiration or just need a good book to enjoy on cold winter nights, these Irish Book Award winners are a sure bet.

Sally Rooney, Fintan O’Toole and Louise Nellon are among the winning authors of the 2021 An Post Irish Book Awards. The award winners were announced on RTÉ . website On November 23 According to the Irish Times.

Renowned author Sally Rooney won Fiction of the Year for the second time for her book A Beautiful World, Where Are You. Her previous novel, Ordinary People, which was made into a successful TV series, won the award for Novel of the Year in 2018.

The shortlist for novel of the year included “Small Things Like This” by Claire Keegan and “The Wizard” by Colm Toibin.

The 2021 Non-Fiction Book Award went to Fintan O’Toole for “We Don’t Know Ourselves: A Personal History of Ireland Since 1958.”

Impressively, for the third time in four years, co-authors Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen won the Popular Fiction Book of the Year award, this time for the fourth book in Aisling’s bestselling series, “Aisling and the City.”

Louise Neylon She was voted Newcomer of the Year for her debut “Snowflake,” while Kathryn Ryan Howard won Crime Fiction Book of the Year for “56 Days,” a book set during lockdown.

Rugby star Keith Earls won the Sports Book of the Year award for his autobiography Fight or Fly: My Life, My Choices.

The Kennys Library and Art Gallery in Galway was named Library of the Year, a new category created this year.

Sebastian Barry, winner of the 2019-2021 Irish Fiction Award, received the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award. Lifetime Achievement Award recipients over the years include Colm Toibin, Maeve Benchy and Seamus Heaney.

The An Post Irish Book Awards, launched in 2006, have become Ireland’s largest literary celebration. The awards showcase a diverse mix of exceptional writing from new and established Irish writers across 20 categories, reports.

This year’s awards attracted more than 187,500 votes from the public, up 33 percent from 202. The votes were weighed equally with those of an academy of 300 booksellers, librarians, authors, reviewers, and journalists.

John Tracy, Chairman of the Awards Board, said: “We are very fortunate to have such wonderful writers in this country. We have so many promising young writers, more women than ever before, writers who represent Irish minorities and marginalized communities, and this will only grow in the years.” coming.

“I would like to congratulate all the winners as well as the nominees in each category. It has been another great year for Irish literature.”

Voting is now open for the Irish Book of the Year, which will be announced at a special hour on RTÉ One on December 8. All voters have a chance to win €100 worth of national book tokens.

For more information visit the Irish Book Awards website Here.

Here is the full list of 2021 An Post Irish Book Awards winners:

The novel of the year
“Beautiful World, Where Are You” by Sally Rooney

Criminal Fiction Book of the Year
“56 Days” by Kathryn Ryan Howard

Sports Book of the Year
“Fight or Flee: My Life, My Choices” by Keith Earls with Tommy Conlon

This year’s newcomer
“Snowflake” by Louise Neylon

Non-fiction book of the year
We Don’t Know Ourselves: A Personal History of Ireland Since 1958, by Vintan O’Toole

general biography
“Did you hear that Mami died?” by Seamas O’Reilly

This year’s cookbook
“Everyday Cook” by Donald Skehan

Popular Fiction Book of the Year
“Aisling and the City” by Emyr McClesgate and Sarah Breen

Lifestyle Book of the Year
“Décor Galore” Laura de Barra

Best Irish Book Published This Year
“Coastal Atlas of Ireland” by Val Cummins, Robert Defoe Barry Brent, Darius Bartlett, Sarah Kandrut

Children’s Book of the Year (Junior)
A Hug for You by David King, illustrated by Rhiannon Archard

Children’s Book of the Year (Large)
“The Summer I Robbed a Bank” by David O’Doherty, illustrated by Chris Judge

Teens and Youth Book of the Year
“The New Girl” by Sinead Moriarty

RTÉ . People’s Choice Award
Your Wild and Precious Life by Maureen Gaffney

author of the year
Marian Keys

Short story of the year
“Little Leaves” by Deirdre Sullivan

Irish Poem of the Year
“Longboat at Portaferry” by Siobhan Campbell

Irish language book of Yeas
“Madame Lazar” Tudge McDonaghin

public library
Keynes Library and Art Gallery, Galway


Write a Comment