Texas man receives 15 months in federal prison for spreading COVID-19 hoax on social media
According to reports, a man is now heading to a federal prison for spreading a COVID-19 hoax on social media.
FOX LA Reports say a Texas man, Christopher Perez, has been sentenced for falsely claiming that he paid someone with the virus to lick groceries.
According to US Attorney’s Office in the Western District of Texas.
Prosecutors presented evidence during the trial that showed Perez posted two Facebook messages in April of 2020. He allegedly paid someone with COVID to “lick things at grocery stores in the San Antonio area to scare people away from visiting the stores.”
Authorities at the Southwest Texas Fusion Center received a screenshot of the hoax, and it was sent to the FBI’s San Antonio office for investigation.
“The threat was false. The US Attorney’s office said in a press release that Perez did not pay anyone to knowingly spread the coronavirus in grocery stores, according to investigators and Perez’s private confession.
Arrested on April 7. In addition to being sentenced to 15 months in prison, he was also ordered to pay a fine of $1,000. Perez initially faced five years in prison.
As previously mentionedCities are creating stricter COVID-19 mandates. Recently, California became the first state to require children to get the COVID vaccine in order to attend school.
The requirements will be phased in by groups of grades — 7-12 and K-6 — and will begin for each group only after the Food and Drug Administration has fully approved a vaccine for that group, according to a news release from Newsom’s office.
“We intend to[get the requirement]once the vaccine is fully approved by the FDA, which gives us time to work with districts, gives us time to work with parents and educators to build more trust and confidence and build the logistics so we can deliver on what we’re promoting here. Today,” Newsom said.
The requirement will go into effect at the beginning of the semester following the FDA’s full approval of this set of degrees — either January 1 or July 1, the governor’s office added in its statement.
Chambers, what do you think of this?