Nobel Prize in Literature 2021 – Live! | books

Of course, we can’t blog live on the Nobel Prize without sharing this video of 2007 winner Doris Lessing. It never fails to make us laugh.

Let’s take a moment too To reference Olson’s response to Shepherd’s questions about Peter Handek’s controversial win. This choice was widely criticized for Handke’s support for the genocidal Serbian regime of Slobodan Milosevic. Olson found the criticism “a little shocking because it does not relate to his literary merit as a writer”, but states that he is “proud” to have been chosen “sure…it will be viewed as one of our best choices in the history of the award.” I’m not sure about that, but I take delight in calling Handke a “political idiot”.

Here’s the context: “What was particularly baffling to us was that we didn’t receive any criticism of the award to Pinter, for example. Harold Pinter was a much more outspoken and radical person in a political sense than Handke had ever been. You could say that Handke is a political idiot. His stance on politics was not as radical or self-conscious as that of Pinter.”

Anders Olson

Anders Olsson Photo: IBL/REX/Shutterstock

Sheppard also interviewed Anders Olsson, the chair of the Nobel Prize Committee, who told him “we feel we don’t have any crisis anymore”, and that we “have found stability in our work at the Academy”. This follows 2018 award canceled after allegations of sexual misconduct, financial misconduct and repeated leaks. Sexual assault charges were brought against Jean-Claude Arnaud, husband of Academy member Catarina Frostenson; Arno was later Convicted of rapeFrostenson left the 18-member Swedish Academy, along with a handful of other members.

Is there any clues that can be gleaned from Olson’s answers? I am intrigued by his comment that “it is very important for us now to broaden and broaden our horizons,” and that while the Literary Note is “the absolute and only criterion for us within the Academy,” he feels that “what we can do is broaden our orientation in literature.”

When asked about the prize’s reputation for Eurocentrism, and the lack of winners – only 16 women have won the Nobel Prize, out of 117 winners – Olson admitted that it was “very Eurocentric in the early part of the 20th century, and very few women won”. But he noted a “significant shift” in recent years, revealing that as of January, international experts will be reporting to us from linguistic fields. [where] We do not have a deep competence within the Academy – Asian and African languages, which we do not master but would like.” He said, “This would be an interesting change, and would broaden our knowledge and our orientation in world literature.” It seems to me that this is something the Academy should have done already – but Let’s see the changes it brings.

Alex Shepard from The New Republic always has sage thoughts to share on who might be the winner. This year, Erno is believed to have a chance, as do Russian writer Lyudmila Ulitskaya and Tiongo, Guadeloupe novelist Maris Conde, Somali author Noureddin Farah, and Chinese writer Kan Zoe.

“The prize has been awarded to Europeans 14 times this century – despite the Nobel Committee’s frank emphasis on greater diversity and its semi-public apology for the prize’s well-earned reputation for Eurocentrism,” Sheppard wrote. With this in mind, the probability that the next Nobel Prize in Literature will be awarded to non-Europeans and non-Americans should be very high. Should. For all the talk about patching this ship, it’s clear that the Nobel Committee will do whatever it wants and that what it wants is to give a ruthless novelist to write lyrical reflections on an affair he had during World War II fifteen years ago. A year-old girl, preferably in French.

In fact.


The Nobel Prize official Twitter account posted about the 1993 winner Toni Morrison. Morrison is one of only 16 women to have received the award since its inception in 1901.

Nobel prize
(@Nobel prize)

One of the most powerful and distinguished storytellers of our time: Toni Morrison, became the first African-American woman to receive an award #Nobel prize When she received the literature prize in 1993.

Stay tuned to find out the winner(s) of the 2021 Literature Prize!

October 7, 2021

Why don’t you try This test On the Nobel Prize website and see how many laureates you can match with their work?


Possible contenders: Haruki Murakami

Haruki Murakami

Photo: Philip Fong/AFP/Getty Images

Haruki Murakami It is another evergreen favorite. I doubt his chances, but I would be glad if this was his year. Perhaps the venerable Swedish Academy will be convinced by his forthcoming book, Murakami T-Shirts: The Shirts I Love, in which the icon of world literature “opens up his eclectic wardrobe” to share “images of [his] Extensive personal T-shirt collection, accompanied by articles revealing a side of the writer rarely seen by the public.” I would like to see the quote from the Swedish Academy that can accommodate that.


Possible contenders: Ngugi wa Thiong’o

Ngũgĩ wa Thiong'o

Photograph: Mordo MacLeod/The Guardian

Long after the winners in Europe or North America, this could be Kenyan Ngugi wa Thiong’oyear? The famous author is always leaning, always near the top of the betting odds, yet always overlooked by the Swedish Academy. Fiamita Rokko, The Economist’s cultural correspondent and fellow Kenyan, hopes to hear his name come at 12 noon today. “His latest book, The Perfect Nine, is his most surprising book, and a testament to how creative he was at age 83,” she told me. “Also, since he is now on daily dialysis, this may be his last chance.”

(My survival is also my hope.)


lucky louise

Photo: Sean Theo/EPA

last year’s poet lucky louise She became the first American woman in 27 years to win the Nobel Prize in Literature. The 78-year-old writer was a former Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award winner, and was praised by Nobel Prize committee chairperson Anders Olsson, for her “candid and uncompromising voice,” full of humor and wit.


Hello and welcome to The Guardian’s live coverage of Nobel Prize in Literature, which should be awarded to “the person who has produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction”, according to the will of Alfred Nobel.

This year’s winner will be announced at 12pm GMT (1pm CEST). will it be Annie Erno, the bookmaker’s favorite? Would you be another wildcard like Bob Dylan, who was chosen in 2016? Or could this finally be the year for Japan’s bestseller Haruki Murakami, who has certainly been practicing his acceptance speech for at least a decade.

My colleague Alison Flood and I will join me over the next hour or so as we post updates, trivia, and speculation about this year’s award.



Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *