HomeList of Gotham Awards 2021 Winners

List of Gotham Awards 2021 Winners

Thirty-first annual Gotham Awards It’s a major stop in the awards season marathon, especially for low-budget producers looking for some Oscar race oomph. However, not every potential Oscar contender has found themselves in Gothams, including “The Power of the Dog” and “Tick, Tick…Boom!” and “The Harder Fall,” where they exceeded the $35 million budget limit for the nominees.

For the first time, international documentaries qualified in the Best Feature Documentary category. In addition, the new non-fiction series is among this year’s category updates, as well as outstanding lead performance, outstanding supporting performance, and outstanding performance in the new series, from the TV side. Outstanding Leading Performer, Outstanding Performer, and Outstanding Supporting Performer were from the gender-neutral categories, with eight men and 14 women nominated.

As previously announced, Jane Campion was honored with a statue honoring the director, while Magnolia Pictures president Eamonn Bowles received the industry honor. The group “The Harder They Fall” took home the Group Honors award and this year’s performers were honored by Kristen Stewart and Peter Dinklage.

See the full list of winners and nominees below.

best feature

“The Green Knight” (A24)
“The Lost Daughter” (Netflix)
“Pass” (Netflix)
“Pig” (NEON)
“Test Form” (Kino Lorber)

Best Documentary

“Ascension” (MTV Documentaries)
“Vaya Day” (Janus Films)
“Escape” (neon)
“The Chief” (Greenwich Entertainment)
“Summer of the Soul (…or When the Revolution Can’t Be Broadcast on TV)” (Scout Pictures, Onyx Collective, Hulu)

Global Best Feature

“Azor” (MUBI)
“Drive My Car” (side view and Janus Films) – Winner
“The Remembrance Part Two” (A24)
“Titanium” (Neon)
“What do we see when we look at the sky?” (Moby)
“The worst person in the world” (neon)

Pingham Ray Penetration Director Award

Maggie Gyllenhaal, “The Lost Daughter (Netflix)”
Edson Oda, “Nine Days” (Sony Pictures Classics)
Rebecca Hall for “Passing” (Netflix)
Emma Seligman, “Shiva Baby” (Utopia Distribution)
Shatara Michael Ford, “Test Pattern” (Kino Lorber)

best screen

“Card Counter” Paul Schrader (Features of Focus)
“El Planeta”, Amalia Ullman (Utopia Distribution)
“The Green Knight” David Lowery (A24)
‘Lost Daughter’ Maggie Gyllenhaal (Netflix) – Winner
“Pass” by Rebecca Hall (Netflix)
“Red Rocket” Sean Baker and Chris Bergoch (A24)

Outstanding driving performance

Olivia Colman in The Lost Daughter (Netflix)
Frankie Faison in “The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain” (Gravitas Ventures)
Michael Gray, “Wild Indian (Vertical Entertainment)”
Brittany S. Hall in “Test Pattern” (Kino Lorber)
Oscar Isaac in “The Card Counter” (Features of Focus)
Taylor Page in “Zola” (A24)
Joaquin Phoenix in “C’mon C’mon” (A24)
Simon Rex in “Red Rocket” (A24)
Lily Taylor in “Paper Spiders” (Entertainment Squad)
Tessa Thompson in Passing (Netflix)

Outstanding Supporting Performance

Red Bernie in “Mass” (Bleaker Street)
Jesse Buckley in “The Lost Daughter” (Netflix)
Coleman Domingo in “Zola” (A24)
Gabe Hoffman in “C’mon C’mon” (A24)
Troy Kotsur in “CODA” (Apple)
Marley Matlin in the movie “CODA” (Apple)
Ruth Negga in Passing (Netflix)

penetration performance

Emilia Jones in “CODA” (Apple) – winner
Natalie Morales in “Language Lessons” (Shout! Studios)
Rachel Sinnott in “Shiva Baby” (Utopia Distribution)
Susanna Sohn in “Red Rocket” (A24)
Amalia Ullman in “El Planeta” (Utopia Distribution)

Breakthrough Chain – Long Form

“The Good Lord Bird” (Showtime)
“It’s a Sin” (HBO Max)
“Small Ax” (Amazon Studios)
“Squid Game” (Netflix)
“Subway” (Amazon Studios)
“The White Lotus” (HBO Max/HBO)

Breakthrough Series – Short Form

“Blindspotting” (STARZ)
“Hacks” (HBO Max/HBO)
“Hand dogs” (FX)
“Run the World” (STARZ)
“We Are Lady Parts” (Peacock)

rags series

“City So Real” (National Geographic)
“Exterminate All Savages” (HBO/HBO Max)
“How to With John Wilson” (HBO / HBO Max)
“Philly DA” (theme, independent lens, TV show)
“Pride” (FX)

Jury Award for Outstanding Performance

Audience Award