Jorginho wins UEFA Player of the Year, while Chelsea coach Thomas Tuchel takes over as coach of the year | football news

Jorginho was named UEFA Footballer of the Year after becoming only the tenth player in history to win the Champions League and European Championship in the same season.

The midfielder was instrumental in helping Chelsea lift the Champions League for a second time in May, before helping Italy win the Euro for a second time just two months later.

Chelsea also tasted success in the Men’s Coach of the Year category, with Thomas Tuchel receiving the award after leading the team to victory over Manchester City in the Champions League final in Porto.

Tuchel only took charge at Stamford Bridge in January – after Frank Lampard led the team to the knockout stages – and oversaw victories against Atletico Madrid, Porto and Real Madrid on his way to the final.

Saturday August 28 5:00 PM

Starts at 5:30 PM

Jorginho beat Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Chelsea team-mate N’Golo Kante for the Player of the Year award, despite the France international receiving the consolation prize for this year’s Champions League men’s midfielder.

Tuchel beat Pep Guardiola – who led Man City to the Premier League title and Carabao Cup glory – and Italy coach Roberto Mancini.

Chelsea’s Edward Mendy also took the trophies, winning the UEFA Men’s Champions League Best Goalkeeper award.

Man City’s Robin Dias won the Men’s Champions League Best Defender award, while Borussia Dortmund’s Erling Haaland won the Striker’s Cup.

PA - Edward Mendy
Edward Mendy won the Champions League in his first season with Chelsea

Barcelona dominated the women’s category after winning the treble last season.

Luis Cortes was named UEFA Women’s Coach of the Year, while Alexia Putillas – who scored Barcelona’s second goal in their 4-0 win over Chelsea in the Champions League final – was named Women’s Player of the Year.

Botelas also won the UEFA Women’s Champions League Women’s Central Midfielder award, while teammates Jennifer Hermoso and Sandra Banos won the attacking and goalkeeper categories, respectively.

The only player outside Barcelona to win the titles was Irene Paredes, who was named Women’s Defender of the Year. However, the center back has since joined the Spanish side from PSG.

Christian Eriksen helped Inter win the Serie A title before joining Denmark at Euro 2020
Christian Eriksen is recovering after suffering a heart attack on the field in June

The UEFA President’s Award has been handed out Denmark defender Simon Kjaer and the medical team who saved Christian Eriksen’s life after collapsing during their Euro 2020 opening match in June.

Follow deadline day with Sky Sports

Time is running out for clubs to do business – the summer transfer window closes at 11pm in England and midnight in Scotland on Tuesday, August 31 and you can catch up on all the deadline day drama with Sky Sports.

Follow the latest transfer news and rumors in our purveyor Transportation Center Blog On the Sky Sports Website and app, check out Latest completed deals And watch the best analysis and reaction on Sky Sports News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.