How to delete (or deactivate) your Clubhouse account
When you joined Clubhouse you probably had to save the invitation only for the audio social media app. But to delete your account, you’ll have to jump off some hoops, because Clubhouse doesn’t make it easy. Here’s what you need to do.
First, let’s explain some of the terms. Although deleting, deactivating, and deactivating your account are often used interchangeably in the context of social media accounts, there are important differences that you need to take note of. Also keep in mind that each platform (such as Facebook or Twitter) handles different ways to deactivate and delete. We are talking about the clubhouse in particular.
When you unfunctional Your clubhouse account, your account has been removed from public view, but the app still retains your user data, and you can reactivate your account by logging in again within just 30 days. Are unfunctional Your account. Inactive account means you permanently lose access to your account and its information, and you can no longer log in to your account. Clubhouse has the “right” to retain your user data.
To delete Your account, which we wish to fulfill in this article, means to permanently remove any and all evidence that you previously had a Clubhouse account. This includes deleting your user data from clubhouse servers.
How to deactivate your account
To deactivate your account, first open the app on your smartphone, and then tap your profile picture in the upper right corner of the screen.
On the next screen, tap on the gear icon in the top right corner.
You will now be in the settings menu. Tap your name at the top of the screen.
On the next screen, tap “Disable Account”.
The next screen will give you some details about what happens when you deactivate your account and in the days that follow. Note that it does not mention deleting your data.
Tap “I understand. Disable the account at the bottom of the screen.
Your clubhouse account is now inactive.
How to permanently delete your clubhouse account and data.
The process of permanently deleting your Clubhouse account and, consequently, deleting your data is not as simple as deleting your Facebook account, where the user has the option to permanently delete it. Just below the Disable button in Settings. The same goes for deleting your account on Twitter, which actually deletes all your user data 30 days after deactivation.
Related: What is Twitter space, and is it different from a clubhouse?
To add fuel to the fire, there is no way to tell how long it will take them to process your request, or even whether they are complying with your request. It is hoped that Clubhouse will make account deletion easier and more transparent in the future. Until then, that’s the only way to get it.
This is another good reminder that you should always be careful about what you share online and what personal data you pass on to companies that do not have your best interests at heart.
Related: 6 Things You Should Never Share on Facebook and Social Media