Cardiff City 0-2 Brighton & Hove Albion: The Seagulls into the third round of the Carabao Cup

Brighton have won only one of their previous eight matches against Cardiff

Brighton maintained their impressive start to the season to advance in the Carabao Cup and inflicted Cardiff with their first loss of the season.

Jacob Moder’s first goal at Albion gave Graham Potter’s men an early lead at Cardiff City.

Andy Zekeri also opened his account for The Nawras in the second half as frequently changed Brighton beat the Championship side.

Cardiff had chances with a header from James Collins that hit the crossbar.

Brighton, who are enjoying their best start to a Premier League season after two wins out of two, made 11 changes to the team that started with the win over Watford.

Cardiff made eight substitutions with Sam Bowen and Tavio D’Almeida making their competitive debut and Mick McCarthy’s side made a positive start to the match.

But it was the visitors who advanced against the course of play after nine minutes, as Enoch Mwepo flicked the ball from Brighton’s half to the advancing Moder, and past Poland international Alex Smithies.

Cardiff’s response saw a short Perry Ng off goal while Cardiff’s top scorer, Eden Flint, headed home from a long corner kick while Zekeri could have doubled Brighton’s lead but fired wide.

The hosts were dealt a blow right after the half-hour mark when captain Sean Morrison had to leave the field and was replaced by teenage Oliver Denham, who came to play for the first time.

Collins had half a chance for Cardiff two minutes into the first half but Jason Steele saved with a header, but as Cardiff advanced on the way back into the match, newcomer Moises Kaisedou fed Zakri, who fired into the bottom left corner of the net.

Collins’ header from Josh Murphy’s cross hit the crossbar late but Brighton did just enough to secure the victory.

line up


formation 5-3-2

  • 25Smithies
  • 41Kwaku Dalmeida
  • 4Morrisonhas been replaced byDenhamin a 34 ‘Minutes
  • 5Flint
  • 16NelsonBooked in 78 minutes
  • 38ng
  • 15thWintelBooked in 73 minutes
  • 6volksBooked in 56 minutes
  • 37bowen
  • 19Collinshas been replaced bymorin a 67′Minutes
  • 11Murphyhas been replaced byColwellin a 67′Minutes


  • 1Philips
  • 10mor
  • 21Package
  • 27Colwell
  • 29M Harris
  • 36Evans
  • 42Denham


formation 4-2-3-1

  • 23Steel
  • 12Whitehas been replaced byFergusonin a 81 ‘Minutes
  • 53Tsungwe
  • 28Roberts
  • 6Carbonic
  • 17lift
  • 25kaiseido
  • 42Leonardhas been replaced byMoranin a 68 ‘Minutes
  • 30Richardshas been replaced byOviahin a 68 ‘Minutes
  • 15thModer
  • 19zekri


  • 31Walton
  • 38McGill
  • 54Furlong
  • 57Oviah
  • 58Ferguson
  • 59Moran

James Bell


live text

Reading logo image about BBC - bluefooter - blue

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.